AFL Schools Carnivals



Yearbook 2011


AFL Schools Carnivals

During Terms 2 and 3 the ACC conduct two AFL competitions. 

The first is the Yr 10 School Boys Cup played in Term 2. This is a competition involving a series of one day regional lightning carnivals coordinated by School Sport WA and the Associated and Catholic Colleges of WA.  Teams are made up of Year Ten male students. 

In 2011 four ACC zones and five carnivals took place for the Year 10 Carnivals:

  • South Carnival (Ferndale Reserve & Sutherlands Park) – Wednesday 29rd June

  • North Carnival (Lightning Park, Noranda) – Wednesday 24rd June

  • South West Carnival (Hay Park, Bunbury) – Wednesday 22rd  June

  • NAS Sub-Association - Term 2

The winners of each carnival for 2011 played in the regional finalists' Carnival against the government school winners on Tuesday 9th August at UWA Sports Park.  Both Corpus Christi and Mazenod Colleges made it to the final for this carnival and Corpus Christi took first place winning 6.2 to 3.2.  Well done to both schools and all others who made it this far.

 The second Competition is the Year 7 Dockers Shield conducted in Term 3.  The ACC in conjunction with the WAFC offered two Yr 7 Carnivals for 2011:

  • North Carnival (Lightning Park, Noranda) - Friday 5th August

  • South Carnival (Sutherlands Park) - Friday 10th August

The players from each school were presented with AFL paraphernalia supplied by the WAFC as well as a Champion Shield for the winning school at each carnival.