Cricket Results



Interschool Sport


Representative Teams





Printer-friendly version

2023 Result: Associated & Catholic Colleges of WA (6/205) Defeated Combined Government Schools (9/204).

ACC Player of the Match: Nico Le Roux (Bunbury Catholic College)


A fantastic game of cricket was played between the ACC v State Schools on Friday 17 March at Murdoch University. The game has a proud history in the WA cricket community and both teams were stacked with some of the best underage cricketing talent in WA. The game certainly lived up to the hype with both teams enjoying the competitive nature and hard-fought contest across the day.

The State Schools captain Matt Carroll won the coin toss and elected to bat under cloudy and damp morning conditions. The ACC were likely going to choose to bowl first anyway to use the overhead conditions to best advantage early and immediately had the Sate Schools under early pressure with a lively spell of fast bowling from Jake Pattinson (Mandurah CC) capturing two early wickets in his first spell and bowling a consistent line. Pattinson was well supported by David Gardner (John XXIII) as both opening bowlers kept the top order of the State Schools in check. A couple of stop start partnerships from the State Schools threatened to build the score, however James Hart (Newman) and Jean Whitmore (Kingsway) bowled tremendous spells taking regular wickets through the middle overs to really give the ACC a powerful position at the midway point of the State Schools innings at 6/64. The ACC were looking to keep the State Schools to a score well under 200, however a strong counter punch from the lower order and tail ensured the State Schools had a very positive end to the innings. One young batter from the State Schools scored 78 runs in quick time and had the ACC fielders suddenly chasing the ball around the outfield. The State Schools eventually closing their innings at a very respectable 9 for 204.

The scene was set for a great run chase in the afternoon. The ACC needed some strong partnerships to chase down 200. Opener Jonah Lincoln (Bunbury Grammar) was resolute opening the batting scoring 28 and was well supported early by a rapid fire 22 from captain Corey Wasley (Tranby) who threatened to take the game away from the State Schools. The game was evenly balanced at 3 for 70 when the match turning partnership formed between Nico Le Roux (Bunbury CC) and James Hart (Newman). Both batters playing some tremendous strokes all around the wicket with the runs coming at a good rate and the ACC building toward the total. Le Roux was eventually dismissed for 53 off 56 balls, that really helped turn the tide of the game at its most pivotal point. Hart also batted superbly throughout ending 62 not out and carrying the team over the line in the run chase with some handy lower order hitting in the final overs from Louis Clayton (Newman) and Brandon O’Rouke (Bunbury CC). The ACC eventually chasing the total down 6/205 with 3 overs to spare. 

Congratulations to Nico Le Roux (Bunbury CC) awarded Player of the Match for the ACC by the WACA umpires. 

Special thanks to the amazing coaching staff team of 2023. Also a final thankyou to the WACA for a wonderful experience for our top ACC cricketers!

Coach: Chris Quelch (Carmel School)

Manager: David New (Kolbe CC)

Selectors: Jake Goncalves (Mercedes), Aaron Lilly (St Stephen’s Carramar) and Hilton Hardman (St George’s AGS)